When it comes to laws that govern Alabama adoption, trying to find a quick and simple answer can be frustrating. Trying to decipher what a specific adoption law statute means can be overwhelming. Our goal is to help you find answers to the most common Alabama adoption laws.
Every state has very different statutes that regulate how an adoption can be administered. If you are considering an in-state adoption – were both the adoptive family and birth mother live in Alabama – adoption laws become clearer and more definitive. However, if your adoption is a dual-state adoption – wherein the adoptive family and birth mother live in different states – which states laws take precedence can become very complicated. Obviously, in either situation, we advise that an experienced adoption attorney knowledgeable in Alabama adoption law should render an opinion before any action be considered.
As a general reference tool, the following information is provided as an abridged summary interpretation of key Alabama adoption laws. Most of these adoption codes have additional circumstances that will need to be verified and considered for each specific adoption. In addition, in state-to-state adoptions, some of these codes may not be applicable depending on the combination of states involved.
THIS INFORMATION SHOULD NOT BE RELIED UPON AS COMPLETE LEGAL ADVICE AND APPLICABLE TO YOUR SPECIFIC ADOPTION. IT IS INTENDED ONLY TO BE A REFERENCE AND NOT DEFINITIVE.
|State Code||Primary State adoption statute page|
|When can a Birth Mother sign consent?||Any time before or after birth||§26-10A-7, 26-10A-8|
|When can a Birth Father sign consent?||Any time||§26-10A-7, 26-10A-8|
|Who is required to witness consent?||Judge/notary||§26-10A-12|
|When can consent be revoked?||5-14 days after signing consent||§26-10A-14|
|Is a court hearing required for termination?||Not applicable||§No statute specified|
|Is there a Putative Father registry?||Yes||§26-10C-1|
|How long until finalization?||90 days||§26-10A-25|
|Can a non-resident finalize?||Yes||§26-10A-25|
|Are Birth Mother expenses allowed to be paid?||Yes||§26-10A-34|
|Is there an allowable maximum for Birth Mother expenses?||No||§26-10A-34|
|Can court increase maximum Birth Mother expenses?||Yes||§26-10A-34|
|Are post partum expenses allowed?||Yes, 4-6 weeks||§26-10A-34|
|Are Birth Mother expenses required to be paid by an agency?||No||§26-10A-34|
|Are Birth Mother medical expenses allowed to be paid?||Yes||§26-10A-34|
|Is there an allowable maximum for medical expenses?||No||§26-10A-34|
|Does the state allow same sex adoption?||Yes||§26-10A-5|
|Does the state allow single parent adoption?||Not applicable||§26-10A-5(2)|